Magic Forest revisited

We revisited one of our favorite amusement parks, Magic Forest in Lake George, NY. Click here to check out the post.

Ham and Kelly

6 Responses to Magic Forest revisited

  1. Nancy says:

    I love these parks, they are a true piece of history. There is a documentary on these type of parks. Unfortunately the large rides have taken the appeal away, soon this place will close as the fairy tale forest and gingerbread house in New Jersey did. There is a Storybook Land outside Alantic City in New Jersey.

  2. Krista says:

    The bowling gnomes in the Rip Van Winkle display – in the story of Rip Van Winkle, he comes across a bunch of gnomes bowling in the forest and drinking ale. He hangs with them, bowls a few frames, sips some ale and then falls asleep for years. Pretty darn absurd!

  3. Rick says:

    As of this year (2009) the park has been opened for over 46 years . I started going there as a child some 34 + years ago . I am now taking my 3 children there so that they will have the same kind of memories that I have … I am amazed that they still have ALL of the things that I so fondly remember from childhood .
    Even the arcade still has the Parrot that lays an egg for a quater . Granted the bird is in rough shape as are many of the fiberglass figures .

    But all in all for the price you cannot beat the fun or the memories that can and will last a life time … Now I get to enjoy my childhood memories with my children and I also get to enjoy watching them make there own . With any luck someday I will be bringing my grandkids there as well ….

    It is a wonderful MAGIC place that EVERYONE who has young children should NEEDS to go at least once !

  4. Dave Blake says:

    enjoyed looking at your site. I’m 53 years old, and remember going to Magic Forest when I was a child. Many of the Fugurines You photographed were from the Old Danbury State Fairgrounds…Which was closed after the 1981 fair. Thanks for a great site. brings back a lot of memories…Dave Blake

  5. Amy says:

    I was supposed to go here when I was probably 7ish. We got there, but they weren’t open. My mother yelled at the lady for some reason. So we didn’t got there. I’m kind of glad. I think I’d still have nightmares! That place creeps me out! I don’t think it’s a coincidence that it’s located near Bloody Pond Rd! Where we did go that year were the following places that no longer exist:
    Gaslight Village–However, some of it is still there. I guess it was a go-kart place for a few years later on. Now it’s a whole lotta nuttin and it’s surreal how the old Gaslight Village buildings can still be seen.
    Great Escape (Long before it was Six Flags, and not long after it was called Story Town)
    Frontier Town (I don’t even know where exactly that was)
    Animal Land

    Does anyone remember these places? It would have been early ’80s for me.

  6. Amy says:

    oops. didn’t *go there.

Leave a Reply

