Reindeer in Boonville

Boonville Reindeer

In the middle of a land island between two roads in Boonville, NY stands a Christmas display. This display consists of a couple lights and two live reindeer locked in a red cage. It was strange to see two live animals locked in a small cage in the middle of winter while cars were driving by on both sides of them. I felt sorry for these guys. Being locked outside in a cage is bad enough, but to top it all off they have to be stuck in Boonville. I talked to this guy in the picture for a little while, and he actually seemed to be listening. I tried to make him feel better by telling him that Santa would come and rescue him from the Boonville Grinch soon. I wonder what’s next for Boonville? Are they going to capture two elves and put them in the cage as well?

 HAM

2 Responses to Reindeer in Boonville

  1. John says:

    This pix bothers me greatly…I’m not a tree-huging/save the spotted cockroach/touchy,feely type–but I’m calling P.E.T.A.!Someone save the little guy!!Man this image pisses me off.Boonville should be ashamed of themself.

  2. Ingrid says:

    I grew up in the Boonville area and never heard of this until my children were born.
    After the initial fascination of seeing reindeer is over, The disgust with their living conditions takes over. I’m afraid I may have actually said my feelings aloud over the years.
    In the off-season these sweeties live on a farm and roam a large field. I’m sure the cramped quarters, where they spend the end of November until Christmas Eve, are very unpleasant. I can’t help but feel sorry for them.

Leave a Reply

